Press Releases

Media Advisory on Great Lakes Judicial Cooperation Network Meeting









WHAT:           Great Lakes Judicial Cooperation Network meeting  

WHERE:         Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania

WHEN:           13-14 June 2018



In February 2013, heads of State from 13 countries of the region, including Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia met in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and signed the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework agreement, or ‘Framework agreement’. By their signatures, the heads of State undertook several commitments, among which their collective will to increase judicial cooperation within the region.

One key commitment of the Framework agreement provides for the countries of the region to “neither harbor nor provide protection of any kind to persons accused of war crimes, crimes against humanity, acts of genocide or crimes of aggression, or persons falling under the UN Sanctions regime and to facilitate the administration of justice through judicial cooperation in the region”.

At the Conference on Strengthening Judicial Cooperation in the Great Lakes Region held in Nairobi, Kenya, on 19-20 April 2016, participants recommended the creation of the Great Lakes Judicial Cooperation Network to serve as a cooperation tool for criminal matters for the use of judicial actors in the region. At a follow-up meeting on 10-11 November 2016, the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) requested the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) to co-lead the implementation of the Network, with ongoing involvement of other UN and non-UN entities and stakeholders that have supported the process.

The Great Lakes Judicial Cooperation Network held its first meeting in Khartoum, Sudan, on 1-2 November 2017. The final report of this meeting is available under this link:

The main objective of the second meeting, which will take place in Dar es Salam, Tanzania, is to allow ICGLR countries to better fulfil their legal commitments under the ICGLR Protocol on Judicial Cooperation and the Protocol against the illegal exploitation of Natural Resources - as well as under the Framework agreement.



The meeting will bring together participants from the 12 ICGLR countries (Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia) as well as the United Nations and specifically the Office of the United Nations Special Envoy for the Great Lakes region.